Video recording and editing

Suggestions for improvement, new category ideas, comments to the editor.
Riverrockjumper

Video recording and editing

Post by Riverrockjumper » Sat Nov 02, 2013 9:54 am

Troy, I have been enjoying your video' on YouTube for a couple of months now. I am wondering if you can share the process of editing your videos including the software you use, camera settings and where you store such large files before you place on YouTube. I know this may be an unusual request but after trying to learn this process I have been bogged down in the mire of technical stuff I really don't want to learn. I just want a standard procedure that works every time. Please keep posting. I hope this is an appropriate topic for your forum. I have a little old Toyota RV with a small solar panel on top to keep my one 12 volt battery going but want to start a blog for my landscape painting and travels. Blessings. Riverrockjumper.

techman
Site Admin

Re: Video recording and editing

Post by techman » Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:29 pm

Thanks for coming over to the forum. This is exactly why I want people over here. Your question is one that gets asked often. Now I can answer once and show it often.

I use a standard photo camera which also does video. I have a cheap casio from Radio Shack and also the flip camera. No matter, I have the camera set on a lower resolution anyway. Anything over 800 x 600 is useless because since I am off the grid and using a cell phone I size my videos to 640 x 480 to upload them. Anything larger would never be uploaded on my limited bandwidth.

I use the free built in Windows movie maker. My laptop has the Movie Maker Live but its pretty much the same thing.

It allows you to do basic video editing with simple transitions.

I also have Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum but dont use it because I dont have time to learn it.

Movie maker is very simple to use and fast to learn in minutes.