Employment for Off-gridders

Discussions about The Off Grid Project and The DIY World Youtube videos. Feel free to chat here with one another and share anything you like.
staticlava

Employment for Off-gridders

Post by staticlava » Thu Jan 21, 2016 8:34 pm

I'm new to actually conversing in the forum but I have, what I feel, is a really good topic. The subject of employment has come up often in Troy's videos but the "3 Years Off The Grid Summery, Thoughts and Warnings" video inspired me to ask all of you this. What kinds of employment do you think would be good for people living off grid? We can see that Troy makes his from Youtube, merchandise sales and wheel and deal with various people he meets. Please share any ideas, whether from experience or just a hunch, about what kind of work people can do to make a living.

techman
Site Admin

Re: Employment for Off-gridders

Post by techman » Thu Jan 28, 2016 9:26 am

The best thing you can do is to make money from your own land somehow.

I plan to sell maple syrup for example. Grow vegetables for sale at the local market. Plus eggs and raising chickens for sale.

I plan to weave baskets from local materials. And pallet wood products.

Of course there are also many other jobs like welding, small engine repair. Any skills you have, use them.

wendyp1000

Post by wendyp1000 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:59 pm

If you already teach college level, as I do, you can work towards teaching online. Just contact the virtual college department of your college or university and start schmoozing the right people. They will probably require a bachelors and masters degrees.

The caveat is having a really good internet connection.

I don't know if I could ever live 'tiny', but to live off the grid may someday be possible...

Teaching online is one way to make extra money ...

Cheers,

Ryan Romero

Post by Ryan Romero » Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:11 pm