Long time fan

Discussions about The Off Grid Project and The DIY World Youtube videos. Feel free to chat here with one another and share anything you like.
PhotoManDan

Long time fan

Post by PhotoManDan » Sat Jun 06, 2015 1:46 pm

Hey Troy!
Just stopping in to say what's up. I've been a long time fan of your YouTube videos. But finally getting around to getting myself on the forum to talk to the man himself.
I just wanted to let you know I love what your doing,and support the the off grid project and tiny house movement.
Also. I am a professional welder by trade. And have a side business as a pro photographer. If you feel as tho my skills might be of some use to you let me know. Maybe Ill make the trek up from philly one weekend I'm free to lend a hand.

techman
Site Admin

Re: Long time fan

Post by techman » Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:16 pm

Hi,

Thanks for watching my videos. I cannot think of any needs for a photographer right now but I can sure use a welder. Problem is that I am off the grid and have nothing powerful enough to run a welder out here. I am not experienced in gas welding either so that is out for me.

The door is always open. Let me know when you want to come over and I would be happy to have you here.

Troy

PhotoManDan

Post by PhotoManDan » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:24 pm

What exactly are your needs. I have a small portable welding machine that can be ran off a normal 15 or 20 amp house plug. And it can get hot enough to handle 1/8" thick steel with no issue. So your big generator should be able to power that (not 100% sure). And for something thicker. You can stick weld with a couple good car batteries. But it has a very short weld time.
http://youtu.be/PV5oLPLUzrM Video of a guy welding brake discs together.

techman
Site Admin

Post by techman » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:36 am