Setting up A New Solar PV ARAY

Discussions about solar power and solar energy projects.
Solar98632
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:10 pm

Re: Setting up A New Solar PV ARAY

Post by Solar98632 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:27 pm

Yup were now at 1lw. In of ARRAY.
Just hit that today.

As for equalizing...should I do that with agms?
I hear they can explode.

Oh I removed the box I was using and patched in to the switch directly..
For once at 5:15 pm I can cook a meal... well if the bloody clouds would go away lol.

Any who, reason for getting rid of that box....over heating..

Oh in my manual it says not to use breakers or fuses as the Zantrex C60 has all that protection in it all ready from over current to fault detection at the panels side.

It was explicit about not adding breakers or fuse as they would not work On the panel.side.


Any who...the manufacture said nothing over 13.5 volts as it could damage the Batterys. When this thing equalizes..it kicks out 16 volts lol.

Solar98632
Posts: 246
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:10 pm

Re: Setting up A New Solar PV ARAY

Post by Solar98632 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:40 pm

Here is an updated image of how I have the wires fed in to the box.
Attachments
20170608_173920.jpg
Added Stress Relief
20170608_173920.jpg (79.68 KiB) Viewed 5479 times

techman
Site Admin
Posts: 1326
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:49 am

Re: Setting up A New Solar PV ARAY

Post by techman » Fri Jun 09, 2017 2:35 pm

Ok, then you are getting many KW of power per day.

We pulled in 2kw yesterday with the experimental solar panels out front. Each panel is rated at 230 watts but I have a LOT of loss in the lines to the Chalet. 2kw is nothing to laugh about though. Our average use here is about 3 to 5 kw per day so when I get my grid tie inverter we will be reducing our energy bill nicely.

I have no idea about AGM batteries. Maybe you can call the manufacturer of the batteries.

Post Reply