Best website or books on repairing RVs

Discussions about Camper, Trailer and RV repair.
gypsygirl

Best website or books on repairing RVs

Post by gypsygirl » Sun Mar 23, 2014 7:37 am

I am a newbie and want to repair our 1992-3 Hitchhiker II fifth wheel. It has water damage to one area, but the rest of the camper is in great shape. I want sites or books that tell the best products to replace bad spots in the camper. Also I want to remodel some and make it look more like a house instead of a camper. Any suggestions of sites or books would be appreciated.

techman
Site Admin

Re: Best website or books on repairing RVs

Post by techman » Tue Apr 01, 2014 10:42 am

I am sorry that I do not know any books or websites besides my own blog which shows a bit of the work I did along the way on repairing my three campers myself. I have the old survival truck camper which I did first. I repaired a bunch of water damage in the cab over bed part and replaced the whole bed with some framing and new insulation. You can start reading about my repairs here: http://www.thediyworld.com/blog/?cat=78&paged=3" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I then got a free 32 foot camper and repaired extensive damages to the whole thing from front to back. I also have a lot of videos on my youtube channel showing how I did the work along the way. Here is my channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/techman2015" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Then I got my RV which had some water damage but was in better shape and better insulated than the camper.

I had to redo some flooring, some walls and the whole complete plumbing on the RV. It is still a work on progress but you can see a lot of the work on the videos I listed above.

I am sorry but you may have to do a bit of browsing to see the parts that interest you because I have a lot of videos up.

I would also be very much happy to help you right here with any questions you may have along the way.