Life of Lead Acid Batteries

Post anything about batteries here. Lead acid, rechargeable, whatever.
Dave Thacker

Life of Lead Acid Batteries

Post by Dave Thacker » Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:58 pm

Troy,

I'm a battery and charging professional, I live in the Radio Control world and own Radical RC. I've got quite a bit of experience with batteries and thought perhaps I could help you and your readers over some common issues with 12V lead acid batteries used with inverters and other off grid purposes. This information is provided in general rule of thumb format. So, let us begin....

An important concept to remember about lead acid batteries is their life is shortened in direct per-portion to how deeply they are discharged and how long they are left discharged. Conversely, the greater a percentage of the time they are full, the longer they last. Every minute they are not 100% full, they are sulfating. The more discharged they are, the faster this occurs. If you want to get maximum life out of them, you want a very large bank so your typical discharge (over night or cloudy day) is something small like 10 to 15% maximum of the total capacity. The less percentage of discharge the better. In the morning, you want to fill them quickly so they are essentially full all day (full the maximum amount of time over their life). From a replacement battery cost and reliability sense, over time, it's going to be cheaper to own excess solar panel so you can punch them up quickly and hold them full all day.

The idea of having enough battery to get through the night, essentially running them down 1/2 way or more every night will mean you'll be replacing them on a rapid schedule. This will be very expensive. I think those cells your using are about 70 amp hours @6V each. With 4 of them, your probably sporting about 3360 watt hours (280amp hours) of battery. So, I'm guessing on a fridge with your other loads, they would degrade about 50% in performance (storage capacity) every month or so.